Apps apple_tv_events_app_update

Published on March 19th, 2019 | by Brad Gibson

0

Apple updates Apple TV Events app for March 25 ‘Showtime’

Apple updated its Events app Monday in preparation for Monday’s ‘show time’ event to announce it’s streaming TV and Apple News services.

The updated Events app can be downloaded from the tvOS App Store and is for fourth and fifth-generation Apple TV devices. Users can view events live and watch archived programs on-demand.

Apple’s Events app will be used to live stream the announcements of new services on March 25 at 10 a.m. Pacific Time (1 p.m. Eastern, 12 p.m. Central, 11 a.m. Mountain, 1700 Greenwich Mean Time) from the Steve Jobs Theater on the Apple Park campus in Cupertino, Calif.

Apple is expected to announce a new streaming video service of exclusive entertainment content, a premium TV app subscription including a number of third-party services, and a $10 a month subscription news and magazine service.

Apple is working on a streaming TV service that will include the more than two dozen TV shows and movies that it has in the works.

In addition to featuring some of its own original shows, Apple is expected to resell other subscription services like Showtime and Starz, similar to the premium TV app subscription model started by Amazon and mirrored by Roku.

Consumers would sign-up with various services – or ‘channels’ – then view and stream them through Apple TV.

Netflix confirmed Monday it will not be part of Apple’s premium TV app subscription model.

Tags: , ,


About the Author

Brad is co-founder and editor-in-chief of BESTAppleTV.com. He has been a technology reporter since the late 1980s having previously worked for MacUser, MacFormat, and iCreate magazines, as well as MacNN.com, MacObserver.com, MacCentral.com, MacMinute.com, and Macworld.com. He hosted and produced the MacFormat This Week podcast for three years. He was also a reporter, editor, and producer for the Associated Press and United Press International.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑